What Lies Ahead

My freshman year of college almost complete. My Goodness has time flown, it has been great, so much growth and learning! I have been reflecting on my emotions about the school year ending and the future I have ahead of me. I have come to the conclusion that I am NOT excited to be leaving college. On the contrary I am excited for the adventures that lie ahead but there is so much uncertainty within these adventures. Although I am ready to be done with the work that college entails the stable and familiar environment is more desirable than the unknown places I will be entering into. I want to stay where it feels safe.

I know that there are great opportunities ahead of me and I need to keep an open mind and embrace them as they come. With that in mind I need to let go of the seemingly comfortable and consistent. Life in this world is always changing. Whether its friendships, locations of living, jobs, nothing stays the same for as long as we would like. It seems that as soon as we get comfortable our world gets shaken and we are knocked off our feet once again. Maybe this is for a reason. For me this is the point where I realize my self-sufficiency, and really, that all along I could not do it on my own. I was only deceiving myself of that fact that I was in control of my life and everything was in order. This is a lack of trust in the power of God and what he can do, that he has my life under his control. Thankfully I am surrounded by people who can remind me of the truths of the Gospel and constantly point me towards scripture and most importantly Christ.

I endlessly thank the Lord for bringing me to Cedarville and the integration of faith in the classroom that I can experience here. One day in Spanish Lit. we read a poem titled “Nada te turbe” and it was an amazing reminder with perfect timing. The poem translated says this;

“let nothing trouble you

let nothing frighten you

God doesn’t move

patience silences everything

He who has God lacks nothing

God is enough”.

nada te turbe

Like I said, this poem spoke to me at the perfect moment. I was feeling rather depressed for various reasons but with these words the Lord soothed my soul. Since encountering this poem I have clung to the truths that it holds. Especially now with my fear of the future and its uncertainty. I repeatedly tell myself the following…

GOD DOESN’T MOVE! GOD IS ENOUGH!

With all my fears of what the future holds and the uncertainty of new situations I can know that I ALWAYS have God. He is constant. I have committed the following verses to memory so I can speak truth to myself in times where I being to give way to thoughts of fear.

Psalm 46:1-2 “God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble. Therefore we will not fear though the earth gives way”

Psalm 62:6 “He only is my rock and my salvation: he is my fortress; I shall not be shaken.”

Isaiah 41:10 “Fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.”

Psalm 100:5 “For the LORD is good; his steadfast love endures forever, and his faithfulness to all generations”

Along with memorizing scripture prayer is a powerful way overcome fear.  As a reminder to myself I set the lock screen on my phone to “Worry less, Pray more” because it is so true. Worry shows lack of trust in God and his power. Prayer surrenders the problem from us and gives it to the Lord, in an act of trust.

If I keep my eyes on the security of the past I will only wallow in fear, not having the courage to step out into the future, the unknown. Instead I will keep my eyes on Christ as he guides my life!

“The one thing I do, forgetting what is behind, and pressing on toward what lies ahead.” Phil. 3:13

written 4/26/2015

One thought on “What Lies Ahead

Leave a Reply

