Sweet Hour of Prayer

One night on the way home from work this summer I turned off the radio and prayed the whole way home because I knew I had been neglecting spending time with the lord for a long time and I knew that needed change. With my busy rodent mind, scattering all over the place constantly, being confined in the car with nothing to do it was the perfect situation to get back on track with my prayer life and just be with my heavenly father.  From there my prayer life began again and slowly improved. Things I was reading in the bible started jumping out at me, I wasn’t just reading words on a page anymore. I was seeing applications and the Holy Spirit convicting me unlike before.

I had been struggling spiritually for about a year and not finding a solution. Logically I realized that I was not putting time and effort into my relationship with the Lord and that it needed to change. I began a daily bible reading plan and stuck to it religiously, not missing a day, but I wasn’t getting much from it just reading words on a page, and at this time my prayer life was essentially nonexistent.

After trying various regimented methods to get closer to the Lord and seeing no results I realized I was doing all of it halfheartedly. They were all religious actions because I knew it was what I should do, instead of genuine and from a heart yearning for Jesus. I was letting religious actions have no real meaning in my life and allowing complacency, instead of growth, when the very same action could have been so healthy. My motivation was misplaced and I was letting heathy habits become regimented and mundane, having little meaning.

“As a deer pants for flowing streams, so pants my soul for you, O God. My soul thirsts for God, for the living God.” (Psalm 42:1–2)

The final key was revamping my prayer life and spending long amounts of time in prayer talking to the Lord. Resultantly I realized that my relationship with Jesus is multifaceted and if one part is missing or lacking it all becomes weaker and less effective. My soul thirsted but without prayer it was not quenched and my efforts to feel better spiritually were not effective.  My regimented religious practices of bible reading were in vain until I invited the Holy Spirit to lead me and help me grow. Prayer before reading was essential, and was a missing piece for a long time.

I sought the LORD, and he answered me; he delivered me from all my fears. Psalm 34:4
Dear Christian who has grown complacent and has let the tools used to grow in the Lord simply become regimented religious acts with no meaning, Do what you know you need to do to have a strong close relationship with the Lord. Pray for the strength to do it. Not only read your bible but study it, allot time in your day for prayer, and dedicate yourself to scripture memory.  It will take time and effort but it will be so sweet to experience the Lord in his fullness.  Let your thirst draw you closer to him.

John 15:5 I am the vine; you are the branches. Whoever abides in me and I in him, he it is that bears much fruit, for apart from me you can do nothing.

Stay grounded in his word and who He is and your heart will blossom into what he desires as well.

Therefore confess your sins to each other and pray for each other so that you may be healed. The prayer of a righteous person is powerful and effective James 5:15

Prayer is powerful and Life changing

Leave a Reply

