Responding to the call ~ Realizing the mission

My journey to Haiti began in the fall of 2016 when I stopped by the Global Outreach table advertising summer missions trips. I signed up to get more information about various trips, hoping the Lord would lead me to one where I could use my Spanish. God had different plans and lead me to Haiti after relentless emails saying it wasn’t too late to join the team. I ended up applying on the last day. I was willing to commit to the trip because it was a way to serve the Lord and His people, although I had no particular interest in Haiti, and it fit perfectly into my schedule!

Our team met weekly throughout the spring semester preparing for the trip in prayer, preparing skits, crafts, and fundraisers. We chose a team verse to focus on which would be our motivation for the trip, to love and serve, inspired by Christ’s example.

For even the Son of Man did not come to be served, but to serve, and to give his life as a ransom for many.
Mark 10:45

The semester ended in a frenzy, I went home for 2 days, then returned to Cedarville to join the team and leave for Haiti on May 9th. On the flight from Atlanta to Port au Prince I wrote this verse in my journal. At that point I had no idea the extent of how the end part of that verse would ring true through the trip. “Praise the LORD! For the Lord our God, the Almighty, reigns.”

Then I heard again what sounded like the shout of a vast crowd or the roar of mighty ocean waves or the crash of loud thunder: “Praise the LORD! For the Lord our God, the Almighty, reigns.”
Revelalation 19:6

Wednesday morning was day one. We began morning devos with the song “Do Something” by Matthew West. This set the tone for the trip reminding me that God called me to Haiti for a reason. That reason was to do something, love and serve his people by helping build a hospital foundation that will continue to serve the Haitians. Everything we would be doing in Haiti would be a testimony to the Lord’s greatness and saving grace.

Stay tuned for more lessons I learned in Haiti and some amazing things the Lord did!

One thought on “Responding to the call ~ Realizing the mission

Leave a Reply

